FINISHED! - 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno

Finished projects, you can't start topics here and have to request a topic in the "administrator" section first.
Please use the image gallery for your pictures, a short tutorial can be found here.
The first image in the first post will be shown in the project gallery.

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby dearn » Thu 13. Dec 2012, 17:12

Small update... the frame is at the paintshop at the moment. I will be powdercoated in matt black.

I expect that the PSU's are coming in next week :D
http://www.ArcadeWinkel.nl | Arcade spare parts and kits
User avatar
dearn
X-Sim Stage 2 edition
 
Posts: 66
Images: 139
Joined: Mon 23. Jul 2012, 12:16
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby dearn » Fri 14. Dec 2012, 19:24

The psu's where delivered today, they where very bad damaged by transport. 1 is working, the other ins'nt.... :cry:
http://www.ArcadeWinkel.nl | Arcade spare parts and kits
User avatar
dearn
X-Sim Stage 2 edition
 
Posts: 66
Images: 139
Joined: Mon 23. Jul 2012, 12:16
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby floriske » Fri 14. Dec 2012, 19:49

dearn wrote:The psu's where delivered today, they where very bad damaged by transport. 1 is working, the other ins'nt.... :cry:


Ouch! That's a bummer :( hope they will supply you with a new one for free and on short notice!
I am no longer an admin/active moderator at http://www.x-sim.de. Please contact one of the other admins or moderators if you have any questions. Thank you!

My sim-project: Floriske.nl's 2DOF Playseat GT Wiper motor Project (sold)
User avatar
floriske
 
Posts: 238
Images: 96
Joined: Mon 2. Jul 2012, 10:23
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby dearn » Thu 24. Jan 2013, 17:14

Finally i got 2 working 50A PSU's! :D

The frame is back from the powdercoater and I varnished all the wooden parts. The sim is completly disassambled at this moment.

I managed to get an old beamer, emergency stop en made a really nice dashboard with an arduino en TM board. :D The next weeks i will reassamble the sim and i will post it here.

Before testing again i will have to make a lever stop, so the motors will stop turning while getting on the sim. This has damaged a potmeter... :|

Preview of the dash, more pics will posted soon:
1091

Grtz,
Arno
http://www.ArcadeWinkel.nl | Arcade spare parts and kits
User avatar
dearn
X-Sim Stage 2 edition
 
Posts: 66
Images: 139
Joined: Mon 23. Jul 2012, 12:16
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby floriske » Sun 3. Feb 2013, 14:29

Good news Arno!

Great looking dashboard as well. Looking forward to seeing the built up Sim!
I am no longer an admin/active moderator at http://www.x-sim.de. Please contact one of the other admins or moderators if you have any questions. Thank you!

My sim-project: Floriske.nl's 2DOF Playseat GT Wiper motor Project (sold)
User avatar
floriske
 
Posts: 238
Images: 96
Joined: Mon 2. Jul 2012, 10:23
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby prodigy » Mon 1. Apr 2013, 22:48

Arno how's the progress going with your project?
You had some problems with weak PSU at beginning like me, I've bought 2x 50A, probably same like yours.
I'm curious to see how your setup with JRK's and ZYT90 will go, if you will have some troubles with driver errors, since we both have the same equipment.
User avatar
prodigy
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 274
Images: 42
Joined: Tue 16. Oct 2012, 12:32
Location: Pula, Croatia
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby dearn » Tue 2. Apr 2013, 11:14

Whow, allmost forgot that i need to update my page Prodigy :o

My sim is working since 2 weeks now, but it needs al lot of tweaking.

The JRK's are configured as follows (very safe configuration, not a very fast setup) :
PID:
4/4-0/3-1/1

Motors:
PWM Freq: 20mhz
Max duty cycle: 200
Max acc: 200
Max current: 30
Current calibration: 124

With this config the JRK's doens't even getting warm, so in the next weeks i will try to figure this out. (no errors) Could you tell me your configs?
I still use the older X-sim 3.0.0.6 with USO commands. The new X-sim is giving an error when trying to start up. Something with Kernel32.dll :cry:

The motors and new PSU's are working good :lol:

Hope to find some time in the next weeks to update this page.
http://www.ArcadeWinkel.nl | Arcade spare parts and kits
User avatar
dearn
X-Sim Stage 2 edition
 
Posts: 66
Images: 139
Joined: Mon 23. Jul 2012, 12:16
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby prodigy » Tue 2. Apr 2013, 13:49

That's great to hear that it's working fine.

I see you have set Max. current limit to 30, I've tried to do that also but then I'm getting "max. current exceeded" errors in JRK utility, I didn't noticed that it had some impact on motor movement, but I left that at "0" - unlimited and there were no more errors.

And you also changed current calibration, mine is at default setting at 149 I think, can you explain what does the lower number do?
User avatar
prodigy
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 274
Images: 42
Joined: Tue 16. Oct 2012, 12:32
Location: Pula, Croatia
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby dearn » Tue 2. Apr 2013, 14:49

prodigy wrote:That's great to hear that it's working fine.

I see you have set Max. current limit to 30, I've tried to do that also but then I'm getting "max. current exceeded" errors in JRK utility, I didn't noticed that it had some impact on motor movement, but I left that at "0" - unlimited and there were no more errors.

And you also changed current calibration, mine is at default setting at 149 I think, can you explain what does the lower number do?


If i higher that number to 149 what you have, i also get the "Max. current exceeded" errors. When lowering this it looks like the motors are moving smoother (and LESS fast) and doensn't get the max aperage/ current at once.

EDIT: the 30 is to stop the motors and generate an error when exeeding the 30A limit. I did that to not exceed the 30A limit of my JRK's . If you set it to zero (0) there will be no check on the current. If the current is >30A for a long time this can damage your JRK.
http://www.ArcadeWinkel.nl | Arcade spare parts and kits
User avatar
dearn
X-Sim Stage 2 edition
 
Posts: 66
Images: 139
Joined: Mon 23. Jul 2012, 12:16
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 2DOF Wormgear Race Simulator by Arno - WORKING P6!

Postby motiondave » Wed 3. Apr 2013, 00:24

I've been whipping my jrks on "0" for nearly 2 years now, and they are running about 30 amps continuous, mind you, they only get 2-5 hrs use a week.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

PreviousNext

Return to Motion simulator Finished Project Gallery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron